



Gala Evening: Awards Evening





Did you all enjoy the Gala last night? It was a great time for additional celebrations! Awards had already been presented at various occasions during the ISPRS Congress like the Opening Ceremony and the Plenary Sessions. Yesterday evening, the Frederick J. Doyle Award and the Giuseppe Inghilleri Award were presented, together with the Young Authors Awards.

The Frederick J. Doyle Award – for an individual typically aged under 50 years who has made significant accomplishments in advancing the photogrammetry, remote sensing and spatial information sciences and technologies - was presented to Wolfgang Wagner, TU Vienna, Austria, for his 'outstanding scientific contributions in active remote sensing, combined with his strong leadership role in science management, administration and in

international organisations'.

Sander Oude Elberink, geodetic engineer from Delft University of Technology, the Netherlands, was presented the Giuseppe Inghilleri Award, sponsored by the Italian Society for Surveying and Photogrammetry (SIFET). This award laureates him as having significantly contributed to the applications of photogrammetry, remote sensing or spatial information sciences in the 4 years preceding to this congress, having contributed to high-quality and innovative research in 3D landscape modelling that has successfully been transferred to practice to serve the society.

Best Papers by Young Authors were also awarded during the Gala evening. One author was chosen from each Technical Commission.

- 1. Technical Commission I: Yuanxin YE, China; HOPC: a geometric structure similarity metric for automatic matching of multi-model remote sensing images
- 2. Technical Commission II: Christian Kehl, Norway; Direct Image-to-Geometry Registration Using Mobile Sensor Data
- 3. Technical Commission III: Andreas Ley, Germany; Reconstructing white walls: multi-view, multi-shot 3D reconstruction of textureless surfaces
- 4. Technical Commission IV: Constantin-Ioan Nandra, Romania; Defining earth data batch processing tasks by means of a exible work ow description language
- 5. Technical Commission V: Ana Djuricic, Austria; 3D Central Line Extraction of Fossil Oyster Shells
- 6. Technical Commission VI: Raechel Bianchetti, USA; A Cognitive Approach to Teaching a Graduate Level Geobia Course
- 7. Technical Commission VII: Benson Kipkemboi Kenduiywo, Germany; Mapping crops from a sequence of TerraSAR-X images with dynamic conditional random elds
- 8. Technical Commission VIII: Katalin Kiss, Finland; Comparison of high and low density airborne Lidar data for forest road quality assessment

https://www.gim-international.com/content/news/gala-evening-awards-evening